North American Power

9 REVIEWS

Rating Breakdown

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Compare North American Power

 
 
The Better Business Bureau's (BBB) mission is to be the leader in advancing marketplace trust. BBB sees trust as a function of two primary factors – integrity and performance. Integrity includes respect, ethics and intent. Performance speaks to a business's track record of delivering results in accordance with BBB standards and/or addressing customer concerns in a timely, satisfactory manner.

North American Power Reviews

WRITE A REVIEW

Your honest review will really help out others. Thank YOU!

Your Overall Rating of Champion Energy Services

Click to Rate
 

Click to Select Rating (optional)

    Value

     

    Customer Service

     

    Billing

     

Create Account

or

By submitting this review you agree to our Terms of Use and Review Guidelines

 

Power2Switch Industry Review

 

Industry rating by state derived from objective public data sources. The average number of lightning bolts for all sources where data is available. For instance, if a supplier has a BBB lightning bolt rating of 4, an Illinois lightning bolt rating of 2, a Texas lightning bolt rating of 3, and no rating in New York's rating system, it's overall lightning bolt rating is 3 [(4 + 2 + 3) / 3].

  • Illinois

  • New York

 

Problem with review?

Great Company Great Rates!

Reviewed Oct. 22, 2013

 

Great Company they locked me for 6 months fixed at a 16% savings! At the end of the 6 month, they sent me a letter and I locked in for another 6 months at 17% savings! Very happy.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Beware of this company. Think twice before you switch. Doesn't deserve even one rating.

Reviewed Oct. 16, 2013

 

North American Power kept sending invitations saying they offer $0.0799 /kwh but that was given only for the first month. Since I subscribed to online billing, Did not check after the first month. Right from second month they started charging much higher than PSEG. Worst company. Cancelling my service with them

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

don't be ripped off!

Reviewed Oct. 16, 2013

 

North American promises to save you money but that is for exactly the period of time they say..1 year or 6 months. Then they rip you off! I am currently paying .11 when UI is charging .078. My bill is higher than ever..all these companies are just fooling you!...and ME!

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

The Worst! Very bad people.

Reviewed Oct. 10, 2013

 

This is as close to a scam as legal gets. This company and their reps are dishonest. They have mastered bait and switch and got me good! Don't use this service! If you are like me, checking the review after you have been burned, contact the BBB and do your civic duty to try and protect your fellow consumers. I hope the free market will destroy them soon.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Very Unhappy - bait and switch - beware!!

Reviewed May 6, 2013

 

I have been a long time PSE&G customer and I was similarly fooled. My first bill was in line with their promised rate of 0.0799 KWH and right thereafter it jumped back to 0.1199. I called their customer service and spoke to a guy named Riley who went through what was obviously a well rehearsed spiel on how rates have gone up etc etc. I should have googled "North American Power Bait & Switch" before I signed up with them. Now I have to wait a few cycles according to PSE&G before going back to them. Left a bad taste in my mouth. Gives the other CHOICE program vendors a bad name, not sure if there are other honest ones out there; but as for myself, NEVER will I try this again. I hope they are noticed for this and something is done about it - so much for the "fine print" - all I can say is what they do is totally reprehensible.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

DON'T BE FOOLED

Reviewed March 11, 2013

 

I switched to this company to help a friend out and because she said it was well worth it. I asked had it benefited her as far as her bill went? And she said she seen a big difference. On a positive side. And like me, she has all electric too. Any way, the first bill I got from had more then doubled almost tripled. I was mad as all out world. Then because they try to entice you by saying they'll give you $50 for switching, don't believe the what they call the hype! In order to get the $50 you have to keep the service until they send you the money. If you cancel before you receive it (which that's what they're hoping you do) you don't get the rebate. Then when you get the rebate and try to cancel because heaven forbid you don't want to keep paying high bills, they tell you it will be cancelled at the next meter reading. AGAIN, DON'T BE FOOLED! I cancelled the beginning of Feb, my next meter reading was for Feb 27th and they sent Com Ed a letter informing them that I will be cancelling service with them as of Mar. 27th. WHAT! REALLY! A WHOLE BILLING CYLE LATER! I guess they were making sure they get their money plus some. Not only was my bill high but the 5 people I referred was too. PLEASE if someone asks you to sign up for this service, LOOK AT THEM LIKE THEY ARE CRAZY AND RUN AS FAR AWAY AS YOU CAN. IT'S A BIG SCAM!

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Same story

Reviewed Feb. 9, 2013

 

I was guilty of thinking the INTRO RATE would last more than a month. A call to North American Power and an email went unanswered.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Read the Fine Print

Reviewed Jan. 8, 2013

 

If it looks too good to be true, it probably is! When my contract with my prior provider was up, I went searching for a new provider and North American Power advertised the lowest rate by far in my area. My initial review found them at 8.99c/kWh initial for a variable rate plan with no cancellation fees. By the time I signed up a couple of weeks later, it was a 7.99c/kWh signup rate, so I signed up (without reading the fine print). For the first month, that was indeed the rate, but by the second month, the rate had already jumped to 12.49c/kWh (while my local is offering 10.67c/kWh). Shocked by the new rate, I did a little searching, saw some similar stories, and visited their website again. The amazing intro rate is still on there, but I now took notice of the tiny link at the bottom: "For full disclaimer click here". There, they do fully disclaim that they offer intro rates and after the intro rates, the applicable rate will be a market based variable rate. It's no one's fault but my own, and there was even a new customer rebate to soften the blow, so I waited for the rebate to arrive and then promptly cancelled. Lesson learned! Hopefully that helps others as well. Oh, and they are fond of getting their new customers to referral their way to yet more customers. Thankfully, I never successfully did, so I don't have to apologize to any friends for providing a poor referral.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Classic bait and switch!

Reviewed Dec. 28, 2012

 

Became a North American Power customer after leaving Energy Plus - in both cases, I was enticed to start service with a low rate (under 6 cents per kWh) and within 3-4 billing cycles, the rate increased to more than 9 cents per kWh. I'm now switching to a 12 month contract with a company that's offering a fixed rate through October, 2013. Their early termination fee is the lowest I've seen for a contract plan - $25. I've wanted to avoid a contract and having the possibility of an ETF but it seems a worthwhile venture given that the providers without a contract ended up billing me at almost double the initial rate.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing