Constellation

7 REVIEWS

Rating Breakdown

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Compare Constellation

 
 
The Better Business Bureau's (BBB) mission is to be the leader in advancing marketplace trust. BBB sees trust as a function of two primary factors – integrity and performance. Integrity includes respect, ethics and intent. Performance speaks to a business's track record of delivering results in accordance with BBB standards and/or addressing customer concerns in a timely, satisfactory manner.

Constellation Reviews

WRITE A REVIEW

Your honest review will really help out others. Thank YOU!

Your Overall Rating of Champion Energy Services

Click to Rate
 

Click to Select Rating (optional)

    Value

     

    Customer Service

     

    Billing

     

Create Account

or

By submitting this review you agree to our Terms of Use and Review Guidelines

 

Power2Switch Industry Review

 

Industry rating by state derived from objective public data sources. The average number of lightning bolts for all sources where data is available. For instance, if a supplier has a BBB lightning bolt rating of 4, an Illinois lightning bolt rating of 2, a Texas lightning bolt rating of 3, and no rating in New York's rating system, it's overall lightning bolt rating is 3 [(4 + 2 + 3) / 3].

  • Illinois

  • New York

 

Problem with review?

Great service, absolutely great service.

Reviewed July 29, 2014

 

I signed up last year because they had a very competitive rate for 100% green energy, which I signed up for. Unfortunately this year their green rates went up. While they have competitive non-green rates, my goal is to run 100% green. I'm going to definitely keep an eye on them for the future, as they were a pleasure to work with.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Door to Door Salespeople Extremely Rude, Almost Violent

Reviewed Feb. 27, 2013

 

A trio of 3 subcontractors that Constellation Energy has hired to shlep across my neighborhood in Philadelphia verbally assaulted residents in my neighborhood this evening. I know they are paid on commission and we have worked hard to educate people in the neighborhood not to show utility company bills to strangers that turn up at your door. Ask for marketing materials and decide on your own if you want to switch generating companies. But when it results in calls to 911, it has gone too far. We're now resorting to taking video cameras out when these people turn up at our doors.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Average

Reviewed Jan. 8, 2013

 

I was a customer from 10/2010 - 9/2012, signing up for their so-called 30 month plan, which is really 24 months fixed and then 6 months variable, but by the time the fixed rate expires after 24 months, there's no longer a fee to switch, so it truly is just a 24 month fixed rate plan. The fixed rate was advertised as being 10% better than my local, but after including taxes, it was around 6%-7% lower initially. During the 24 months, it was as much as 14.66% lower on the good side and up to 3.15% higher on the bad side, and in the final analysis, it wound up being 5.43% lower. The $150 giftcard for signing up wound up being more valuable though. When my contract was up, I looked to sign another fixed contract, but their pricing advantage is no longer as strong and was roughly equivalent to my local variable rate, so I terminated and am now looking at alternate providers.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Shady Billing Practices and Poor Customer Service

Reviewed Oct. 31, 2012

 

I was a customer of Constellation Electric from July 2010 to July 2012. They were my third party supplier with Pepco being my primary distributor. I had no problems at all for most of my relationship with Constellation. In fact, their pricing was the cheapest I'd found so there was never a question of value UNTIL I NEEDED CUSTOMER SERVICE. If you are considerig Constellation Electric as your supplier and you ever need to interact with their customer service, you WILL have problems. Be prepared. If you never need their customer service, you may be good to go but you better monitor your bill closely! Toward the end of my relationship with Constellation Electric, I was not billed (through Pepco) for the service period from 3/24/2012 to 4/24/2012. I was on a budget billing and according to my calculations (and theirs), I had a credit on my account up through the end of my relationship with them. I assumed they didn't bill me for this billing cycle because I had this credit and that they would apply the credit to the amount that should have been billed. They do this every six months or so when you are on budget billing. If you owe more, they will bill you for the difference. If you owe less, they will adjust the bill down because you have overpaid. This is what I thought was happening here. Cool! Six months later (October 22, 2012) when I am no longer a customer of Constellation Electric (effective July 24, 2012), they bill me for this service period (3/24/2012 to 4/24/2012) directly, not through Pepco as they generally would. REALLY? You had 3 months of me still being a Constellation customer to bill for this invoice (through Pepco). All of a sudden I get a 6 month old bill directly from Constellation Electric that basically outlines that I had a credit of XX but they forgot to bill you for XX so I now owe XX". Who bills for something 6 months later when you had a minimum of a 3 month window to actually bill it (through Pepco). On top of that, I could have thrown this mail out because I have never received a bill from Constellation Electric during my two year relationship with them! My bills have always come from Pepco (with Constellation billing included). When I called their customer service department about my concerns regarding this direct bill with six month old charges, I spoke to 5 different people before I even got someone to admit that they (Constellation) mad a mistake! The first person hung up on me. I don't want to beleive she did this on purpose because we were actually still communicating but it happened and I didn't receive a call back (they verified my number when I called so they could have just called me back) so I classify this as a hang up. I called back. Spoke to a different representative. She was nasty. Spoke to her supervisor (Jennifer) who was even more nasty. Jennifer was so nasty that I had to get out of my character to check her! My first problem was that they never admitted to not billing me for that period. They kept saying "we billed you on April 25th." I was fed up with them and called Pepco directly. Pepco verified that they never got a bill from Constellation Electric and the bill that they received on April 25th went to the following billing cycle, not the billing cycle that was in question. I called Constellation back. Got another representative. He was nice and patient. I asked for my call to be escalated to a Manager, not a Supervisor. He transferred me to Angie who was very nice and she ADMITTED THAT THEY DIDN'T BILL ME AND WAS VERY APOLOGETIC AND STATED THAT SHE WOULD RESEARCH WHY THIS HAPPENED! Thank you!!! This is all I really needed to hear. Take some responsibility!!! With all this being said, I would never be a customer of Constellation Electric again and I do not recommend their services at all. Their billing is sloppy and their customer services representatives are unfriendly and do not appear to be trained enought to even know how to read their billing reports! They get 2 stars for having decent prices but now that prices are becoming more competitive, I think they are being beat in this category as well. Plus, I'd rather have better customer service and pay more money. I think customer service is key to any business and people in such an indstry should be capable of understanding the customer reports and dealing with all customer types. If you can't do this, then you are in the wrong field. Get a new job! Last thing...Constellation Electric's BBB rating is actually a C+, not the A+ that's listed on this site. Here's the link if you are interested: http://www.bbb.org/greater-maryland/business-reviews/electric-companies/constellation-electric-in-middle-river-md-90174546 I'm now with Direct Energy. I haven't had any problems with them so far.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Deceptive tactics - stay away

Reviewed Oct. 11, 2012

 

I SAY AGAIN STAY AWAY FROM SIGNING UP FOR CONSTELLATION ENERGY. I signed up to switch with constellation energy. I printed out my confirmation with the price I signed up for. When my first bill came in the price was higher than it was suppose to be. Okay well this is a mistake. I called their customer service explained the issue but instead of simply correcting the mistake they tried to change the terms. I indicating right on my confirmation from YOUR company is what I agreed to. This at best was very deceptive and worst intentional in their tactics. How many actually go back and confirm what they agreed to and the price is the same. Probably not many and that's what they are counting on. I SAY AGAIN STAY AWAY FROM SIGNING UP FOR CONSTELLATION ENERGY.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Great Customer Service

Reviewed April 29, 2012

 

I was hesitant to switch energy suppliers, but I am very satisfied with my decision to try out Constellation Energy. I haven't had any problems with service or with getting information over the phone. My bill is slightly cheaper than it was with my previous supplier. But my favorite part about switching was the little perks I received. Soon after switching, I received a $25 Visa gift card with a very nice later thanking me for choosing them as my energy supplier. Another time, I was invited to take a short online poll in exchange for a $5 Starbucks gift card. There have probably been other freebie offers, but I have a bad habit of losing/throwing out/not reading mail.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Great Company!

Reviewed April 14, 2012

 

I've always recieved great customer service from Constellation! I have never had any billing issues with them, and they have been helpful in recommending great ways to reduce my energy consumption.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing