Champion Energy

36 REVIEWS

Rating Breakdown

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Compare Champion Energy

 
 
The Better Business Bureau's (BBB) mission is to be the leader in advancing marketplace trust. BBB sees trust as a function of two primary factors – integrity and performance. Integrity includes respect, ethics and intent. Performance speaks to a business's track record of delivering results in accordance with BBB standards and/or addressing customer concerns in a timely, satisfactory manner.

Champion Energy Reviews

WRITE A REVIEW

Your honest review will really help out others. Thank YOU!

Your Overall Rating of Champion Energy Services

Click to Rate
 

Click to Select Rating (optional)

    Value

     

    Customer Service

     

    Billing

     

Create Account

or

By submitting this review you agree to our Terms of Use and Review Guidelines

 

Power2Switch Industry Review

 

Industry rating by state derived from objective public data sources. The average number of lightning bolts for all sources where data is available. For instance, if a supplier has a BBB lightning bolt rating of 4, an Illinois lightning bolt rating of 2, a Texas lightning bolt rating of 3, and no rating in New York's rating system, it's overall lightning bolt rating is 3 [(4 + 2 + 3) / 3].

  • Illinois

  • Texas

 

Problem with review?

No Reason Not To Switch

Reviewed Jan. 27, 2014

 

I heard about Champion Energy about two years ago on my local progressive talk radio station. I liked the idea of having a choice other than my current huge supplier. I also loved the idea of saving money. I switched and have never looked back. The transition was absolutely seamless, and my monthly electric bill went down significantly. I continue to be amazed at how reasonable my electric bills are, whether its the cold of a Chicago winter, or the blazing heat of a Chicago summer. There's no reason not to switch to Champion.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Come on and join the in the savings

Reviewed July 12, 2013

 

Champion Energy is a great company that has several perks, etc that you will enjoy. The rates are very good and when I signed up they even knocked off .02 cents per KWH as a gesture of trust and good faith.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Not bad rates, but room to improve service greatly

Reviewed July 3, 2013

 

The rate was cheap in the beginning and then, six months later they increased it by 20% so I had to switch. The web interface is really, really bad. It looks like a product out of 1990s playbook. Electricity is a commodity so I am a value shopper. I am looking for the cheapest rates.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

Unfortunately we cannot be the cheapest provider all the time. Hope that you check us out again in the future when your contract is up.

 

Problem with review?

Very Happy, but have to leave. :-(

Reviewed June 24, 2013

 

Was very pleased with Champion. I switched over to them a year ago, and it was easy. I have had NO problems at all with their service or billing. But, I have to switch because of their current prices. My contract ends next month, and am looking for a contract price lower than .06 cents for two years. This is because ComEd's prices will increase to .07 cents in June of 2014. ComEd is lower than anybody now, but I am looking into the future and want a lower contract rate to combat this massive increase that's coming. Thanks for the great service and price Champion! I will not hesitate to switch back to them in the future, if their price is favorable again.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

Garrett,
Thanks for your business. Please check us out again in the future when our prices may be more appealing to you.

 

Problem with review?

Don't Do a Long-Term Contract

Reviewed May 17, 2013

 

I signed up with Champion a few weeks ago, based on their supposedly good customer service. A week ago, I got a notice that the Village of Wilmette where we live has a new energy deal with rates that are 10% lower than Champion. I called Champion to find out if there is anything they could do to let me out of my $10 a month termination fee, and they said, sorry, after the 3-day federal contract cancellation period, you're out $120 if you switch over, without even receiving a bill. My contract period runs from May 30 to May 30, but they are holding me to an April 26 sign up date. Shouldn't my contract end April 26? I guess anything for $10 bucks a month, don't care if you're an unhappy customer. My only recourse is to flame the company on boards like this... BEWARE!

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

Jill,
With municipal aggregation in Illinois there may be situations where you can find a rate lower than Champion's prices. Unfortunately, you can only change/cancel your contract within a 3 day recission period with no penalty. And although you enrolled on April 26, we already purchased your power to start on May 30th. A supervisor is looking into your account and will have a more favorable solution than the person you originally spoke to.

 

Problem with review?

Wonderful Company!

Reviewed May 15, 2013

 

I have been with Champion Energy for over 2 years and I have never had an issue. There prices are competitive, the customer service is wonderful.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Confusing and Frustrating

Reviewed April 21, 2013

 

I found the process of switching to be easy. However, a couple of weeks later I received a bill for $548 from Com Ed. They had taken me off budget billing as a result of the switch. After some discussion I paid that. They then put me on a budget bill for $236/month. I paid the next bill. Then I received a $344+ bill from Champion. They say they had not received any money from ComEd and told me to call them. I called ComEd they said this was the money due them, but I had a $144 credit. The told me to call Champion. I called Champion and this time escalated to a supervisor. She left me a voice message saying $344 was due to them and I needed to call ComEd. So that's what I'll do next week. I normally pay around $250/month. My house is 100% electric, which is what prompted the switch. However now in 3 months, instead of paying $750, I will have paid well over $1,000. Not feeling the savings or the love here.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

Mary - A supervisor from our Customer Care team has reached out to you to discuss this further. You should be receiving a credit from ComEd. Please email feedback@championenergyservices.com to make this right. Thank you!

 

Problem with review?

So Far So Good

Reviewed April 3, 2013

 

Saving 30% on my energy bill, a savings of $4,000 / year. I can pay online, allows autobilling. The power still works. Very happy with the decision

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Easy as Pie

Reviewed March 20, 2013

 

I switched to Champion 7 months ago, and their billing process was extremely easy for me. I set up a recurring payment and essentially forgot about it. Every bill was e-mailed to me as a PDF so I didn't have to log in to their website to see past bills, although the online interface was pretty user friendly. Never had to call them for any reason, so can't speak to customer service. I'm actually switching because a new provider is cheaper--hopefully I don't regret it!

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Extra Charge from Centerpoint

Reviewed March 7, 2013

 

We have been a Champion Energy customer for 4 years, but we are switching to Brilliant Energy. Champion raised their energy costs by 8% over last year's rate, and then they added on a $9.45 monthly fee from Centerpoint. They say that it is a new fee from Centerpoint, but Brilliant is not charging the same fee on their 12 month fixed plan. Brilliant does charge a $10.99 monthly fee if your usage goes below 1000 kw. That will hit me in the winter months, but the savings in the summer months will more than offset this. Champion advertises great customer service, but they never bothered to tell us that they were going to start charging an extra monthly fee of $9.45 per month on March 4. They had to have known about this because it was reviewed and approved by the PUC. A heads up from Champion would have been nice, so we could renew before the new charge hit us. They are far from the low cost provider now, and their customer service has certainly gone down in my experience.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

Jim, the monthly charge of $9.45 from Centerpoint is not a new fee we are charging customers. Rather than including it as part of the energy charge like we did in the past, we are passing it directly to you, much like most providers do. This new structure makes it easier to differentiate fixed energy charges from the utility's constantly changing fees. Also, our monthly fee of $6.95 only applies when usage is lower than 800 kilowatts. Please email feedback@championenergyservices.com to discuss further.

 

Problem with review?

Great rates!

Reviewed Jan. 24, 2013

 

I switched to Champion after a year of using another energy provider due to high pricing. Long story short is that Champion is helping us save at least 15-20 dollars each month and that money counts! The service is friendly and I have never been put on hold. I can't wait to see how much more money can be put in our pockets after using them!

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

Thanks for the feedback Wes. In the TX market we may save customers up to 30% on their electricity bill. Glad that we could put some $ back in your pocket!

 

Problem with review?

You Pay Two Bills Now!

Reviewed Jan. 16, 2013

 

I, like many others, made the switch because of the lower advertised electricity rates along with a single bad experience with Comed billing. Its been almost a year now and I'm going to cancel Champion because of the fact that I have to pay two separate bills. On top of that, because Champion has taking over the actual electricity supply, Comed no longer allows me to view bills or setup auto-payment of my monthly bill. What this means is a tedious manual transfer of money from my bank account, or writing a check to Comed. At the same time I still have to review a bill from Champion and send them a bill too! I've had a couple close calls where I almost forgot to wire the funds to Comed, which is the exact problem I had been trying to avoid in the past -- a hefty late payment fee from Comed! At the end of the day I'm tired of trying to see how much I'm really saving, and unless Champion can make it so we get one bill detailing the cost of the electricity along with the breakdown of the delivery charges from Comed, I'll be staying clear.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

Jason, sorry about the frustration you have experienced. We may be able to change you to a "single bill" setup, so you would receive one bill from Champion with both your Comed and Champion fees. Please email your contact information to feedback@championenergyservices.com so we can look into this for you.

 

Problem with review?

Champion Review

Reviewed Jan. 9, 2013

 

I've only been with Champion 2 weeks. I did quite a bit of comparison shopping. If you use over 1000 kWh, go with Spark Energy for the EASIEST online setup of account and billing. If not, Champion won't charge if you go under 1000, so that is a better deal. And if you go under 500, the charge is only @ $5. Champion was a bit more difficult to setup, not sure I'm setup actually, because it still says one time payments on my account. I'm trying to be patient because I'm a small customer that the better companies don't want. They don't really want you to conserve energy.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

Hi Vivian,
Thanks for your review. Every customer's important, no matter how small! :-) We want to make sure your payments are set up correctly. Please email us at feedback@championenergyservices.com with your account number and I'll get someone to get it fixed for you.

 

Problem with review?

Awesome!

Reviewed Dec. 20, 2012

 

I recommend Champion Energy, they have great customer service and easy pay options. And ever since I chose Champion Energy, I've been saving money.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

Melanie, thanks for being a customer. You can always use our savings calculator at www.lookatyourbill.com to see potential savings.

 

Problem with review?

Horrible!

Reviewed Dec. 4, 2012

 

I tried Champion Energy out for a year. You want to know about extremely poor service Be 5 days late (I was on vacation) with a bill and they send out messages that they are sending your debt to collection, be 10 days late and some threatening junkie calls you up trying to scare you. Then they jack up your rate. I didn't see that in the agreement. After the 5 day incident I thought I'd teach them a lesson about customer service and not pay them until I was ready. After 30 day the threatening email messages started. So I replied stating that I would love for them to cancel my services so I could deal with a professional company. THE ONLY THING CHAMPION DID RIGHT was reply to my message permitting me to switch.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

We're sorry that you had a bad experience. Customers have 23 days to pay their bill, and Champion sends a friendly reminder notice when a customer is more than 5 days late. Unpaid bills can result in a customer being switched back to the utility, so ignoring a past due balance is never a good approach. We're glad that you are happy with your return to ComEd.

 

Problem with review?

Low rates & a great company!

Reviewed Oct. 23, 2012

 

Recently switched to Champion and have been happy with them so far. My bills have all been low and I have never had a problem with billing.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

Welcome to Champion Energy! Contact us at any time if you have questions about your service, billing, etc.

 

Problem with review?

Noticable Summer months cost savings

Reviewed Oct. 9, 2012

 

Re upped for another 12 months in June. Hot 2012 summer. Air on full blast. Wife was surprised the bill wasn't as high as she thought it was going to be. Really happy we made the switch. Customer service is very good.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

Great news Paul! Glad we could save you guys some money during the hot summer!

 

Problem with review?

Great Value

Reviewed Aug. 21, 2012

 

We switched several months ago and it has been fantastic. No noticeable change other than a cheaper bill every month.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

Thanks for the feedback Travis. What people don't realize is that nothing really changes except a lower bill. ComEd still maintains the poles and wires and Champion Energy supplies the electricty at a lower rate.

 

Problem with review?

Learn How to Bill a Customer

Reviewed Aug. 2, 2012

 

Terrible, I switched back to Com Ed. They screwed up my billing request and after calling three times, I finally got a paper bill. This happened three months straight. Then I never got a paper bill at all and they had the nerve to send me a disconnection notice. When I called, they acted like sending me a bill was a huge favor as if I asked them to help me move. It simply wasn't worth the 8% I saved to have to sit on the phone every month to figure out my billing.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

Thanks for the input John. Looking into your account it looks like the paper bill never made its way to you through the post office. We had changed your billing preferences to be both emailed and mailed to ensure you received your bills. We apologize for any delays on inconveniece this has caused.

 

Problem with review?

Very pleased

Reviewed July 13, 2012

 

I have lower bills, thanks to Power2Switch and Champion, and I have better service than I ever had with ComEd. Any billing question gets answered in minutes by a real person, who speaks English, and is actually, believe it or not, FRIENDLY! I didn't know it could even be this way!! I have happily renewed with Champion and intend to do so for years to come. Keep it up guys!

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

Glad that our customer service reps treated you the way we treat every customer - with first class customer care based in the U.S. and not some offshore call center. We're available 24/7 to assist you with any questions or concerns you might have.

 

Problem with review?

1 Year in and Just Renewed! Excellent Service!

Reviewed July 9, 2012

 

I am a first time apartment renter / bill payer and I chose Champion based on the several good reviews I saw on the company. So far I have been satisfied with the service and communication. After signing up, I have had to make several calls to verify online account information, and the customer service was great! They answered all of my questions and responded positively to any concerns. Their online web client is slightly clunky when trying to change info, but a quick chat with their reps fixed all issues I had and the account changes were immediately viewable. I have signed up for ACH transfer payments, and that went as smooth as possible, being deducted from my account next day! As far as rates go, The company seemed to have some of the lowest in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area. I locked in for a 12 month plan, but they had variable rate plans as well. I will see how I feel come renewal time, but so far so good! I would definitely recommend Champion to anyone looking for energy services in the DFW metro. UPDATE>> Thanks to those who have used my referral code. I have had the lowest electric bills I have ever had in my life! I currently have a credit / negative balance on my account! Probably won't find that at too many other electric companies. I have been a customer for 10 months and have had zero problems with Champion. I do not know why people give them bad reviews. They have always been extremely helpful with customer service and with all these bill credits, I have been able to put that money towards other things I really care about. Thanks again for letting me refer you! ONE YEAR UPDATE>> To those that say there is a fee for online payment, this is false. To those that say their rates have been hiked up over time, either your contract was up or you didn't lock in at a fixed rate. I have been a customer for over a year at a fixed rate. My rates have never gone up throughout my contract. I just renewed for 10 more months at a rate that was better than I was currently paying for a year! That is great if you ask me. Also as previously noted, I have received over $250 in bill credits from all of you amazing folks who chose to use my referral code after reading through my review. I do not believe many electric companies are willing to fork over a quarter-grand to their customers just like that. If you actually do the research and choose a fixed-rate plan that works for you, your rates will not go up during the contract. That would be illegal on their end, and it just isn't done in the business. Also, their customer service has always been friendly and helpful with me. I call and get a human voice within a minute of dialing. It is convenient! I feel that anyone could be satisfied with this company if they understood the terms they are agreeing to.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

Corbin, thanks for the kind review. When you become a customer of Champion Energy you get a Referral ID that enables you to earn bill credits for referring your friends and family. And who wouldn't want to lower their electricity bill? Thanks for the recommending us to others. And like you mentioned, when it's time for renewal we will notify you several times to renew your contract so you don't get off a fixed rate.

 

Problem with review?

So glad I switched to Champion Energy!

Reviewed Dec. 11, 2012

 

I highly recommend switching to Champion Energy. I have been with them for alsmost a year now and have saved tons of money with their low rates, low mimimum usage amount.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

Lyla, Great to have you as a customer. Providers will charge various fees and that's why it's important to read the fine print on their Electricity Facts Label to know what you will really be paying for every month. At Champion Energy, our monthly fee of $4.95 is only applicable to customers who use under 500kWh/month. This rate is lower than many other providers out there.

 

Problem with review?

As described

Reviewed June 16, 2012

 

As described

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Great Savings, little trouble

Reviewed May 1, 2012

 

Power2Switch is a great tool for selecting new electricity providers in an objective and transparent manner. Overall, the process was very smooth with the exception of direct debit from my checking which did not get properly executed on the Champion end. I hope it worked out and didn't go on my credit.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Piece of Cake!

Reviewed April 17, 2012

 

The switch was easy and painless and the benefits are great! And, the notifications received identifying the savings are an easy way to determine the exact savings. Great!

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

No Sweat!

Reviewed April 11, 2012

 

I don't know of very many things easier than saving money on energy with P2S. Was not sure what to expect, but the switch to Champion Energy is saving me money while helping me to save the world (I switched to all renewable energy)! I hope more people switch as Champion is fair, economical and environmentally responsible.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

No brainer way to reduce costs

Reviewed April 11, 2012

 

Champion energy has been a pretty smooth process since i switched to them almost a year ago. Process was seamless once i started and i have had little to no problems to date. As with any service, there are bound to be some small hiccups along the way. In my case at the very beginning when i did encounter a switching issue, the wonderful staff at Power2Switch were extraordinary and efficient in helping me figure it out in the shortest possible time. I love the fact that i am saving and also learning more about my energy uses. Also enjoy the fact that i am empowered to choose who i want to use for my energy needs and Champion has been a good experience so far. Seeing my savings so far on my Power2Switch page also makes me feel good.... !!!!!!!

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Just like ComEd, but way CHEAPER!

Reviewed April 11, 2012

 

I was a bit worried about switching from ComEd. Wasn't sure if the billing would be a problem...what would happen if the power failed, etc. Well, one year in to my switch, I'm thrilled with Power2Switch and Champion Energy. I save a lot of money in the last year and my service was exactly the same as before. I plan on renewing with Champion for at least another year and maybe 2 years!

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

Thanks for the feedback George. Switching from ComEd has been a new experience for many customers in IL. We're glad that the transition was smooth and hope to have you as a customer for several years!

 

Problem with review?

Saving Money is Enlightening

Reviewed April 10, 2012

 

Power2Switch made it so easy to switch to an alternate supplier. We are happy with Champion and are definitely seeing some significant savings. We also opted to support green power for only a little more. If you haven't, do yourself a favor and switch!

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Easy Hookup Hardly..........

Reviewed April 10, 2012

 

After a cordial preview of what I was to expect upon switching my service, we got nothing but delays and excuses from Champion. Give you an example supplier was at a meeting or out of town and would get back to us asap. Never happened, after close to a month of going back an forth with E-mail corresspondenses, we elected to cancel and keep ComEd. Would we recommend Champion, hardly. Unless they get a more efficient CEO or customer servive department stick with what service you have.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

Dale, I am sorry for the poor experience. Consistent with your recommendation, we've worked at continous improvement to our customer service, processes and systems. We deliver a better overall experience today than yesterday, and it will be even better tomorrow.

 

Problem with review?

Even Better Than I Thought

Reviewed April 10, 2012

 

I signed up for a 50% wind-power plan. Turns out that was a minimum and I actually got 100% wind the first month according to the breakdown! My bills have always been below what the original estimate was as well. Feeling happy about my electric bill is a weird experience.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Easy, Intuitive Process and Reliable, Green Energy. Why doesn't everyone do this??

Reviewed April 10, 2012

 

I switched a year ago - in fact, just renewed my contract with Champion - and I have never looked back. Originally, I switched because I wanted a renewable energy provider, and I was prepared to pay a little more than I was used to for it. But, miraculously, Champion has saved me a ton of money over the course of the year (friends laugh when I tell them what my monthly electric bill comes to) on top of the sustainable sourcing. At first I didn't understand the system but I called them and their customer service explained that it was all streamlined for my (FYI ComEd does still deliver the electricity but you aren't going to get a separate bill from them for a few dollars a month delivery fee - I didn't understand that at first). They make it really easy, cheap and reliable to get green energy. I highly recommend this provider.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Excellent Champion Energy Service

Reviewed April 9, 2012

 

I've saved a boat load of money switching provides. It was a super-smooth process to transition over to Champion Energy Services. The company has excellent auto-billing capabilities and sends me reminders/alerts in case anything comes up. I am thoroughly pleased with the service and wish I knew about it so much sooner.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

too much stress switching

Reviewed April 9, 2012

 

Due to billing mixups between my old provider and champion, it took several months, several phone calls, and even more emails to straighten out the billing. If I hadn't had very personal and awesome assistance from power2switch, I'd probably still be dealing with the headache. Besides that, I chose a slightly higher rate to get my power from renewable energy sources but the updates I get on where my power is coming from are a giant pie chart that says no info is available. If they can't tell you where your power is coming from, you might as well just go to the cheapest rate because I doubt its helping your personal carbon footprint any

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

Champion Energy Review Response

Hector, I hope the resolutions we finally reached to the issues on your account were satisfactory. The mixups you described have helped us automate solutions to prevent others from experiencing the same headaches. Your next environmental disclosure will accurately reflect your green power purchase. Thanks for hanging in with us to get these things fixed.

 

Problem with review?

Great Savings and Service from Champion

Reviewed April 8, 2012

 

I switched to Champion Energy via Power2Switch for 100% renewable energy almost a year ago, and I've realized over 20% savings. It was a totally seamless process.

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing

 

Problem with review?

Love my energy!

Reviewed April 8, 2012

 

The process of getting renewable energy and saving money couldn't be easier. It feels great to have reliable, cleaner energy delivered to my apartment and it feels even better when I see the bill and my savings every month!

  • Value

  • Customer Service

  • Billing